2013 Film Independent Spirit Award Nominations

Screen Shot 2012-12-05 at 05.07.47

Sound the bongos – it’s a double nomination for Matthew McConaughey.

Jack Black’s nomination for Bernie is surely set to keep him ontrack for a Golden Globe nod and Emayatzy Corinealdi returns to contest Little Miss Hushpuppy once more, making it pretty clear that we’ll be seeing a lot more of the Middle Of Nowhere star before the season’s through.

Brit Marling gets some love, as does The Perks Of Being A Wallflower and Ruby Sparks, but you can always trust the Spirit Awards to dig up something a little different and nominate those who often go unseen for the rest of the season, so check out the full list of winners below:

Best Feature:

Beasts Of The Southern Wild
Keep The Lights On
Moonrise Kingdom
Silver Linings Playbook

Best Director:

Benh Zeitlin – Beasts Of The Southern Wild
Ira Sachs – Keep The Lights On
Julia Loktev – The Loneliest Planet
Wes Anderson – Moonrise Kingdom
David O. Russell – Silver Linings Playbook

Best Actor:

Jack Black – Bernie
Bradley Cooper – Silver Linings Playbook
John Hawkes – The Sessions
Thure Lindhardt – Keep The Lights On
Matthew McConaughey – Killer Joe
Wendell Pierce – Four

Best Actress:

Linda Cardellini – Return
Emayatzy Corinealdi – Middle Of Nowhere
Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook
Quvenzhané Wallis – Beasts Of The Southern Wild
Mary Elizabeth Winstead – Smashed

Best Supporting Actor:

Matthew McConaughey – Magic Mike
David Oyelowo – Middle Of Nowhere
Michael Peña – End Of Watch
Sam Rockwell – Seven Psychopaths
Bruce Willis – Moonrise Kingdom

Best Supporting Actress:

Rosemarie DeWitt – Your Sister’s Sister
Ann Dowd – Compliance
Helen Hunt – The Sessions
Brit Marling – Sound Of My Voice
Lorraine Toussaint – Middle Of Nowhere

Best Screenplay:

Ira Sachs – Keep The Lights On
Wes Anderson, Roman Coppola – Moonrise Kingdom
Zoe Kazan – Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh – Seven Psychopaths
David O. Russell – Silver Linings Playbook

Best First Feature:

Fill The Void
Gimme The Loot
The Perks Of Being A Wallflower
Safety Not Guaranteed
Sound Of My Voice

Best First Screenplay:

Rashida Jones, Will McCormack – Celeste And Jesse Forever
Rama Burshtein – Fill The Void
Jonathan Lisecki – Gayby
Christopher Ford – Robot & Frank
Derek Connolly – Safety Not Guaranteed

Best Documentary:

The Central Park Five
How To Survive A Plague
The Invisible War
Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present
The Waiting Room

Best Cinematography:

Ben Richardson – Beasts Of The Southern Wild
Roman Vasyanov – End Of Watch
Lol Crawley – Here
Robert Yeoman – Moonrise Kingdom
Yoni Brook – Valley Of Saints

Best International Film:

Once Upon A Time In Anatolia
Rust And Bone
War Witch

John Cassavetes Award:

Breakfast With Curtis
The Color Wheel
Middle Of Nowhere
Mosquita Y Mari

Robert Altman Award:


Truer Than Fiction Award:

Only The Young
The Waiting Room

Someone To Watch Award:

Rebecca Thomas – Electrick Children
Adam Leon – Gimme The Loot
David Finker – Pincus

Producers’ Award:

Nobody Walks
Prince Avalanche
Stones In The Sun

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s