Trailer Talk: Orgies, Sperm Donation, Drug Heists And Vampire Presidents

These should have been up at the beginning of the week, but as I’ve moaned about my laptop enough already, I won’t do it again….! Dance machines, sperm donation, a trip to the 1960s, Abraham Lincoln, drug heists, mind heists, sharks, tap dancing, orgies, Keira Knightley impressions and babies – let’s talk trailers.

THE FP:

Red Band:

Green Band:

EMMA: I have to be honest and say that I prefer the idea of Ferrell, Vaughn or Stiller taking this idea and putting their own mark on it as I think it’s right up their street. With the Green Band trailer having the edge in my opinion (oddly due to the romance element being focused on more), there isn’t a huge difference between the two. It definitely does have that ‘cult’ feel to it and there’s no way I can imagine this getting a particularly wide release.

NADINE: I understand what The FP is trying to be, but I don’t think it’s successful. It’s very hard to take seriously with too much swearing to try and make it look funny. Although I like the colours and the weird little facial effects it has (it’s probably my dusty computer screen doing that though), I don’t have any interest in this film, but that’s mostly due to the fact it’s not for my audience type.

NATURAL SELECTION:

EMMA: This looks absolutely amazing. I just can’t decide whether it showed me a little too much. Regardless, Harris looks like she absolutely owns this film, forming a very off kilter relationship with Matt O’Leary’s Raymond. Head over to the lovely Jamie Neish’s Centrefolds & Empty Screens to read his brilliant review from the Glasgow Film Festival here.

NADINE: I know I often say I like trailers, but I really like this one! Sadly there is a lot shown but I still really think Natural Selection has something good to it. Of course, there is proof in the reviews and festival tags shown throughout this trailer, but just the feel from the sweet, sensitive storyline is enough for anyone to give it a chance. It’s hard to believe that Rachael Harris hasn’t had a solid, acclaimed film role as I can see that she will be the stand out of Natural Selection! Matt O’Leary (I recognise him from my Spy Kids phase as a child) looks like he could be quite a surprise, contrasting Harris’ character as a woman who is desperate for her own child.

BEYOND THE BLACK RAINBOW:

EMMA: Sorry, did I just land somewhere between the 1960s and 1970s? Apparently so. I can’t help but be completely sucked into this trailer, fascinated as to how much narrative structure the film will actually have. It’s easy to tell it’s going to be a beautiful thing to watch, but I have a feeling a lot of people are going to hate it. Hopefully the puzzle will be explained in a little more detail soon.

NADINE: Oooh, this looks freaky – but one to look out for! The unclear picture of what is going on in Beyond The Black Rainbow certainly makes it look very appealing, but so weird. It’s not something I’d usually go for and knowing me, I won’t get round to actually seeing it, but I’m very intrigued by Beyond The Black Rainbow.

ABRAHAM LINCOLN: VAMPIRE HUNTER:

US:

UK:

EMMA: Oh God I love this. What makes me so happy about this US trailer is that they are obviously confident enough in the film that they don’t have to focus on the famous faces. Just like in Wanted, the action looks completely off-the-wall, but there’s no doubting the American trailer is far superior to the UK one. This is mainly because the UK one slows itself down with more back story, feeling it needs the love element thrown in and also relying on Dominic Cooper’s face for a split second which really isn’t necessary.

NADINE: Veryyyy excited about this and the first trailer is definitely going the right away about getting the film recognised and bigged up to audiences. It looks dark, very exciting and full of action, with a little bit of fun here and there. Looking at the cast list, there are plenty who are deemed to be incredible and I’m really excited to see how this will turn out. I love the twist of Abraham Lincoln being a vampire hunter and it’s definitely going to take Vampire Diaries and Twilight for a little bit of a run.

PUSHER:

EMMA: I like Richard Coyle and Agyness Deyn looks great, but all this trailer does is make me want to watch Nicolas Winding Refn’s original trilogy! While it’s obviously interesting that Refn is an executive producer on the film, this is director Luis Prieto’s first film in the English language. I know the music is all done by Orbital for this film, but did they really have to be so obvious and try and sell it in the vein of Drive?

NADINE: From the look of this, I’m now dying to see the original before the remake as I think a British remake will mean it veers a little away from the original. In quite a gritty trailer with a very beat-heavy soundtrack, Pusher looks like it will be quite brutal in places with little psychological goings on in places. I could be wrong, but I do very much want to see both the original and this version as it looks gripping

SOUND OF MY VOICE:

EMMA: The ultimate teaser, surely?! The one thing that has always drawn me to this film is Brit Marling, who I absolutely fell in love with in Another Earth. I’m holding myself back from ‘completing Chapter One’, as I want to go into this pretty fresh, but this does look really rather interesting.

NADINE: A teaser trailer done right! This tease is quite intense to watch as there is so much uncertainty as to what is going to happen, but from the short clip/teaser, we can understand that Sound Of My Voice has something quite deep to it.

DARK TIDE:

EMMA: As much as I want to hate the idea of this, the photography and interaction with the sharks looks absolutely phenomenal! No Mega Shark vs Crocosaurus, that’s for sure.

NADINE: Whaaaaaaaaaat – is that a sea lion at 1:20?! What a load of drama for poor Halle Berry! If your father got killed by sharks, I don’t really think that anyone would ever go back again, especially with the size of those sharks! It’s like a cross between The Perfect Storm and a really bad deep sea diving film, with a very weird take on sharks.

DAMSELS IN DISTRESS:

EMMA: I’m not really too sure what I think of this trailer. I love this type of film and the presence of Plaza and Gerwig is surely a little dreamy, but the first time I watched it it felt a little too cool. If that’s even a criticism?! But on multiple viewings I find it to be a little more charming. Don’t get me wrong, I’m pretty sure I’ll love the film, the trailer just doesn’t really do it for me. Plus the ‘English’ girl sounds like she’s trying to do an impression of Nicki Minaj’s alter ego. Just saying.

NADINE: I like the look of this off beat, indie comedy and found the trailer very delightful. At first glance it looks like an Ellen Page-style indie, but at the same time it looks original and sweet. I love the satirical edge to the depressed/suicide story and of course, the ever engaging Aubrey Plaza! Analeigh Tipton was in Crazy, Stupid, Love last year and was quite delightful and funny in parts, but of course next to Emma Stone, Gosling and Carell she didn’t get the appreciation I think she could get here.

WANDERLUST:

EMMA: Eurrrgh. I genuinely get a little uncomfortable with these type of films and Wanderlust seems to push it a little far. I think the other trailers were a little more effective as all this really does is shove sex in your face – though I know that appeals to a lot of people. I’m a massive fan of Rudd and the part with everyone getting high was pretty funny, but I just think this is going to be a certified mess.

NADINE: I’m very excited about Wanderlust because I LOVE Paul Rudd very, very much. I find him hilarious in most things, even at his most unfunny, and since Horrible Bosses I’ve been interested to see how I take to Jennifer Aniston in new films. There isn’t much more in this trailer to what I’ve already seen, just a few more crude words and sex talk, so I’m still quite interested in seeing the outcome for Wanderlust. It’s either going to be really bad or really good.

INTRUDERS:

EMMA: As much as I hate the horror genre due to me being an absolute wuss, I think this is a pretty effective trailer – mainly due to Ella Purnell still channeling her inner-Knightley so well and not coming across as a pretentious and annoying little brat. The kid can act, so that makes me far more interested already. Clive Owen’s career hasn’t quite panned out as expected, but hopefully if they keep churning out good little TV spots like this, it will make a good amount of money at the box office, as horror is sorely lacking right now.

NADINE: I’m sure Emma’s going to be the same with me, as we don’t like horrors – I have no interest in seeing this film at all. It looks very scary and I hate, HATE films with demon children, devils and spirits in weird houses and so anything with a faceless person is a big no-no. Young Ella Purnell really caught my eye as Ruth in last year’s Never Let Me Go, so I kind of want to see how she’s grown from that role, but am too afraid to risk it! I think it could do quite well with ‘real’ horror fans as opposed to the ones who love the Paranormal Activity films.

FRIENDS WITH KIDS:

EMMA: Give me this over Wanderlust ANY day of the week please! I still think they could have changed the name of the film – how long until the lady who thought Drive would be like Fast Five pops her head up again when she realises Timberlake isn’t in this one?! The trailer puts a big smile on my face, it’s as simple as that. I adore the cast and I really can’t wait to see it. O’Dowd getting more recognition is a massive plus and anything with Jon Hamm in has my immediate attention. Yes, I am that shallow.

NADINE: There is a lot of footage shown here which makes me doubt how many unseen laughs will be left in the full film, but I still really like the look of Friends With Kids. With the success of last year’s Bridesmaids, it’s going to rely a lot on Wiig, Rudolph, O’Dowd and Hamm to really sell the film, but I’m perfectly happy seeing it for Adam Scott and Jennifer Westfeldt (who is also directing). They look very sweet in a I-know-they’re-going-to-get-together-in-the-end kind of way while also remaining very awkward and fun.

Leave a Reply

