Trailer Talk: A Jaundiced Bill Murray, Bridesmaids Assemble, Will Ferrellllllllll and Miley C

This week we see another ensemble piece courtesy of Wes Anderson, the Bridesmaids cast reunite for Friends With Kids, Disney go 3D (again), Eva Mendes as a bad mother, Will Ferrell go crazy in subtitles, someone brush their teeth and smoke at the same time, James Franco channel another writer and Miley Cyrus piss off Demi Moore. Let’s talk trailers:

MOONRISE KINGDOM:

EMMA: I bloody love this. Ed Norton looks great, the 60s/70s feel is great, the jaundiced cinematography is great – did I mention it looks great? I loved The Royal Tenenbaums and this will definitely be another wonderfully off-kilter ensemble offering from Anderson. I’m also really digging the mock grandeur. But where it gets me is with its brilliant use of symmetry (you MUST check out this link) and ability to not give the entire story away, but still give you a good idea of what you’re going into. To be fair, when it says Wes Anderson on the label, you should already be well aware of what you’ve invested in. But there’s definitely still a lot of quirkiness left to unravel. And I can’t wait. Did I also mention Bruce Willis looks great?

NADINE: The cast is one thing, but the rest is the pure delight that you feel from watching the trailer. Just think of what the film will be like!! It’s Wed Anderson’s usual style of a comedy drama about a young boy and girl (newcomers Jared Gilman and Kara Hayward) who run away together. There are elements which hit the typical young love story, but the ensemble of Edward Norton, Frances McDormand, Bruce Willis and more make it look like it’s going to be a hell of a film to watch. It’s a very dreamy trailer with an awesome soundtrack – it just makes you feel happy and looks glorious! Moonrise Kingdom is now up in my list of films I can’t wait to see this year, so I do hope there’s a UK date for its release soon!

FRIENDS WITH KIDS:

EMMA: Rudolph, Wiig, Hamm, O’Dowd – Bridesmaids anyone? Somehow I think we’re going to escape from any repetitiveness, here, with the movie seeming to focus far more on Scott and Westfeldt’s characters. It’s strange hearing O’Dowd without his plucky Irish accent, but he sounds great and where this premise could easily be accompanied by a bland script, I will eat my own arm if the performances and potential for lots of improv don’t carry this through. But surely they could have come up with a better title or at least changed the Friends With Benefits font.

NADINE: I’m surprised with this film because, other than the cast, I had no idea what the story was going to be. Obviously the title indicates, but I quite like this first trailer. Kristen Wiig is a Queen of Comedy and the success of Bridesmaids certainly has her on the radar, but in FWK, Adam Scott and Jennifer Westfeldt (also the director) take the lead as two friends who agree to have a baby together, but remain friends. Hmm… Jon Hamm, Maya Rudolph and Chris O’Dowd rejoin Wiig from Bridesmaids which can only mean good things. It looks like a clever comedy with a cute premise and I’m sure that we haven’t seen the funniest yet. Cute kids+comedies+awesome casts are my favourite, so I’m pretty hopeful for this one. I wish O’Dowd didn’t have an American accent though.

FINDING NEMO 3D:

EMMA: I bloody loved this at the cinema. And I can’t wait to see it again on the big screen. In 2D, as before.

NADINE: Pretty simple trailer advertising the fact Finding Nemo will be in 3D! Because Pixar’s animation is rounded, shadowed and in 3D I am already sure the film will be enhanced by the technology, so I’m looking forward to it!

GIRL IN PROGRESS:

EMMA: This could be interesting. I like the idea of Mendes as a bitch, but I can’t quite decide what demographic this is aiming for, mixing up the drama and humour. The tone here reminds me of The Art Of Getting By and I think there could be room for a few tears. But ultimately it looks like a very harmless story with morals upon morals and an appearance from Patricia Arquette that couldn’t be further away from Alabama – devastated. Cierra Ramirez looks like she could be quite a revelation and I like the use of mother tongue from Mendes at the start. I think this could be one of those easygoing guilty pleasures for me. I just hope Mendes shows us a little more of what she’s capable of.

NADINE: This is another trailer I was surprised to enjoy because I’m not the biggest Eva Mendes fan. I feel she has always needed to branch out her roles, but I think this could be that role. Though not completely different to what we’ve previously seen her in, Mendes is a mother who is more immature and reckless than her 13 year-old daughter who, by the looks of things, grows up during Girl In Progress. She looks strong in it and for me, the reason I am interested in it. I hope it’s more than just a film for a girly night in as it looks like it could either be good, bad or very bad. I hope good. A lot is shown in the trailer, unfortunately, so I’ll be surprised if there are unexpected twists or turns in the plot. But for now, this trailer doesn’t seem so bad.

CASA DE MI PADRE:

EMMA: Will Ferrellllllll, I applaud you. The marketing for this has been absolutely spot on and I am incredibly excited for it. I love how they’re sending it up in the style of a Spanish soap opera with the camera angles and continuity larks. There’s not really a lot to say! It looks brilliant and has obviously been a real labour of love for Ferrell.

NADINE: Will Ferrell is just golden and I want this to be soooo good. I laughed a lot in the trailer and know for a fact that there is much more laughter in Casa De Mi Padre. I’m guessing it’s more of a spoof than having an actual, thorough plot, but Ferrell is Armando Alvarez, who sets out to settle his father’s debts in Mexico. It looks overly dramatic, packed with action and comedy and Pedro is in it!

THAT’S WHAT SHE SAID:

EMMA: Now, this could be funny. Really funny. Or it could completely miss the mark. I’m hoping for the former. It’s nice to see women on a road trip for a change and it looks shameless. Which I kinda like. If Megan from Bridesmaids took you out for a weekend, I imagine this is how it would look. I’m looking forward to seeing more.

NADINE: I love overpowering, feel good female films, but I find that good ones don’t come about so often. That’s What She Said has a quirky, quite rude edge to it and this trailer makes the film look fabulous! I like Alia Shawkat very much and she looks great in it, but I think the person who is going to steal the show is Anne Heche. I was laughing out loud at the clip near the end as she brushes her teeth and smokes and giggled a lot at her incident with an elderly man. This film looks like a whole lot of fun and it’s great to see such unconventional female film characters as the leads. Compared to the trailer above for Girl In Progress, this is the film I’d rather watch for a girly night in!

THE BROKEN TOWER:

EMMA: I’ll be honest, it’s only when Michael Shannon’s face popped up that I became interested. We know Franco likes his American writers after Howl, but I don’t really know what to make of this until I see more. This teaser is rather brief.

NADINE: Another piece of work from I-don’t-ever-sleep-Franco which will no doubt be a good watch. He puts his all in portraying real life, historic characters and I’m sure The Broken Tower won’t be any different. This teaser shows a lot of footage in the space of thirty seconds – a little more than I could take in on first watch – so I will have to see a fuller trailer before my mind’s up. But I just love James Franco.

LOL:

EMMA: It’s been a rather Lionsgate-heavy week! So I’ll sum it up by saying that I don’t hate this. I think it’s a pretty spot on little film about teenage obsession. I also think they’ve sold it to the teenage demographic purely on Douglas Booth’s face. Ahem. I like the pairing of Miley Cyrus and Demi Moore, but it’s obviously the grandmother who’s going to have the spiky one liners. It’s also great to see that it wants to be a little edgier with language and slang, seeming a little more realistic in terms of today’s teens. But hell, what do I know.

NADINE: Don’t know much about the original, but from the looks of this trailer it’s one big teenage party. It will pull in a lot of money with Miley Cyrus onboard, but for me I couldn’t stop staring at Douglas Booth’s cheekbones. That’s all I can find to say.

Leave a Reply

