Review: Anonymous (2011)

As this video will explain, the format for my next couple of reviews is going to change. I think it’s safe to say they’re now in ramble form, as what I’m talking about here is all off the top of my head. But, hey, sometimes it’s nice to have a bit of a change. Feedback (as always) will be warmly welcome.

DIRECTOR: Roland Emmerich.

CAST: Rhys Ifans, Sebastian Armesto, Rafe Spall, Vanessa Redgrave, David Thewlis, Edward Hogg, Jamie Campbell Bower, Joely Richardson, Xavier Samuel, Sam Reid, Paolo De Vita, Helen Baxendale, Amy Kwolek, Alex Hassell, Trystan Gravelle, Robert Emms, Tony Way, Julian Bleach, Derek Jacobi, Mark Rylance.

SYNOPSIS: If Edward De Vere, Earl Of Oxford (Ifans) had been the man behind the great works of Shakespeare, how would his family and friends have reacted to the amount of time he spent locked away with ink and paper? Set amidst the Essex (Reid) rebellion against Queen Elizabeth I (Richardson and Redgrave), Anonymous tells the story of how the young poet De Vere wished to leave his legacy to – Ben Jonson (Armesto) – missed out on fame and fortune after being eclipsed by a certain loud and unpredictable Will Shakespeare (Spall).

VERDICT: 3/5

4 responses to “Review: Anonymous (2011)

  1. The film had its fair share of flaws but Emmerich really keeps this film moving with a story that is detailed with great mystery to it, and shows his love for Shakespeare’s writing very well. Let’s just hope he sticks away from blowing up the world the now. Good review.

  2. I think you’re right. I think he shows a real admiration and passion for the Bard, especially in the time and care that is taken over the monologue scenes. I think this was the start of something pretty promising – let’s see what happens!! Thank you so much for watching and commenting 🙂

  3. Great video blog/review – you’re braver than me with these sorts of things. If I broke my arm I’d have to hang up my reviewing boots for a little while. Since this review was posted in November I’m going to guess you’ve healed up okay! Love that Troll Hunter poster in the background!

    • Ah yes, luckily it is all better now thank you!! I should probably do some more videos, but my iMovie’s sound and picture go out of sync for some reason. I have a camcorder, though, so maybe I should utilise that again! Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

